|Architect||M.J.E. Lippits & N.H.W. Scholte|
|Accessible||Tram 4, 9, 14 (halte Rembrandtplein)|
|More||Marlies Buurman & Flora van Gaalen, Room Service, Amsterdam 2007, p.38-39.|
In the atmosphere of Louis Davids
In 1892, George Schiller bought the café Du Parc in Rembrandtplein. In those days, this square was already a famous entertainment area with the cafés of Hotel Mas and Hotel Rembrandt. The Schiller family decided to build a new hotel-café on the site of Du Parc and the five adjacent plots it had also acquired: the present-day Schiller.
The architects Lippits and Scholte designed a building with a symmetrical facade, emphasized by the two nonidentical turrets at the ends of the roof. Today, only the hexagonal base of the lefthand turret remains. The building’s detailing shows a hybrid of Jugendstil and traditionalism. In addition to the combined use of stone and brick, the sculptures and the elegant wrought -iron elements are striking features of the facade.
When the hotel was renovated, considerable energy was devoted to preserving and reinstating the original interior. In Brasserie Schiller – the heart of the hotel – many original Jugendstil and Art Deco details can be seen. There are stained-glass depictions in the fanlights above the windows in the café-restaurant. The paintings by the former owner Frits Schiller contribute to the hotel’s unique ambience. In its early days, the Schiller Hotel was an important meeting place for artists and entertainers. After a performance in the Rembrandt Theatre, they then went to the Schiller to see and be seen. This artistic clientele included the painters Jan Sluyters and George Hendrik Breitner, the playwright Herman Heijermans, the cabaret performers Nap and Fientje de la Mar and Louis Davids. (ARCAM/BU/FG)